Commissioner Justin McCaffrey
(516) 677-5350

Public_Safety_LogoThe Department of Public Safety coordinates all available Town resources under one umbrella to develop and implement unified safety and security measures to prevent, mitigate and manage incidents, both natural and man-made, that threaten the quality of life of our residents and the critical infrastructure of our communities. Through its three divisions, Security, Emergency Management and Marine Enforcement, the department works closely with local, state and federal agencies to address security issues, plan and prepare for disaster response and recovery, and strengthen the Town’s responder capabilities.

Public Safety also serves as the Emergency Management Department for the Town and actively participates in all phases, including hurricane preparedness, hazardous materials mitigation, and any and all natural or man-made disasters that may affect the Town.

Emergency Management Division
Marine Enforcement Division
Security Division

Fire Prevention Week