Town Board-mainThe Town Board is the legislative body of the Town of Oyster Bay. Comprising the Supervisor and six Council members, the Board has the final responsibility for all matters pertaining to the operation of the Town, exclusive of incorporated villages. It exercises this authority in the form of local laws, ordinances and resolutions.

The Supervisor and the Council members are elected on a Town-wide basis. The Supervisor serves a two-year term. The Council members are elected to four-year terms, which expire in such a way that on any given election day, no more than three full councilmanic terms of office will be decided. In the event the Supervisor or a Council member leaves office prior to completion of a full term, the Town Board appoints a replacement. That person serves until the next regularly scheduled term. There is no limit to the number of terms the Supervisor or Council members may serve.

Town Board Meetings
The Oyster Bay Town Board conducts regularly scheduled public meetings on matters related to zoning, budget and public safety. View the Town Board Meeting Schedule.

Town Board Biographies and Contact Information
This section offers background information on the seven members of the Town Board.

Public Information
The Public Information Office, a division of the Town Board, is the Town’s press office.