Where Does Your Tax Dollar Go?

The Oyster Bay Receiver of Taxes Office does not send all the money it collects from the taxpayers to the Town. In fact, the Town receives only the second smallest share of your tax dollar. In addition to collecting Town taxes for Town services, the Receiver of Taxes also serves as the collector of taxes for Nassau County, school districts and independent special districts on all properties within individual governing bodies and districts – not just the Town of Oyster Bay. Special tax districts may include water, sewage collection, sewage disposal, parks, drainage, public parking, lighting, fire academy, and fire prevention.

What percentage of our tax dollar goes to each level of government for public services?

For each tax dollar, the distribution is as follows:

67 cents for schools
20 cents for Nassau County & Special Districts
13 cents for the Town of Oyster Bay